In contrast to a shared hosting account in which the data is backed up by the service provider, when you use a virtual or a dedicated web server you'll need to keep manual backups as this sort of a service is not provided by default. As good as a server could be, there's always a possibility that something may go wrong. For example, you may delete some content by accident or a script-driven application could get corrupted after an update. In case you have a backup, you will not need to worry about this sort of problems as the content can be easily restored. Considering that it may not be very convenient to do this all of the time on your end, we provide an optional backup service for each of our web server plans and we shall store a copy of your content on a separate hosting server to be certain that it's undamaged no matter what. With the upgrade, you'll be able to work on your web server without worrying that you could lose any information due to any reason.