A password-protected directory or area is a folder which could be accessed only when a username and a password are typed in, so no unauthorized people may view its content. This option may be used for the main folder of a particular site or exclusively for a particular subfolder depending on your requirements. As an illustration, if you are developing a new website and you don't want people to see it before it's completely ready, you need to prohibit the access to it altogether, whereas if you would like only some individuals to be able to access specific files, you can password-protect only a specific folder, while the remainder of the site could be seen by everyone. Regardless, a “403 Forbidden” error page shall appear in the event that the login details the visitor inputs are not right. Even a direct link to a file won't work provided any folder above it is password-protected.

Password Protected Directories in Cloud Hosting

Creating a password-protected area will take merely a few mouse clicks and a few seconds if you host your sites within a cloud hosting account with us. You won't have to do anything difficult - you'll have to choose a domain/subdomain, to select which folder under it has to be protected, and then to type the login name and password that'll be used to access that folder. In case a number of individuals need their own login details, there shall not be a problem to make several different usernames with access to the same exact folder. All protected folders will appear with a padlock icon in the File Manager section, so you will always know where this function is activated. If you want to disable the security feature for any folder, you can deactivate it from the same section of the CP where you have enabled it.